The following properties can be set on the General tab:
•User name - the user's user name (login). By default, it must be unique across all websites in the system.
•Full name - user's full name (first name, middle name and last name).
•First name - user's first name.
•Middle name - user's middle name.
•Last name - user's last name.
•E-mail - user's e-mail address.
•Enabled - indicates if the user account is enabled and the user can sign in.
•Is editor - indicates if the user is allowed to sign in to CMS Desk and access the On-site editing interface. This is used to differentiate between users who are only allowed to visit member areas of the website and content editors. It provides a separate layer of security in addition to permissions.
•Is global administrator - indicates if the user is a global administrator. Global administrators have full permissions for all features and data across the system and are not affected by permission settings for particular modules.
•Is external user - this attribute is used when you are using integration with an external user database (e.g. LiveID, OpenID, Facebook Connect or some custom external database). When enabled, the user will not be able to log in using forms authentication.
•Is domain user - indicates if the user was imported from Active Directory.
•Is hidden - if true, the user will not be visible on the site (e.g. on-line users monitoring, repeaters displaying users, etc.).
•Disable site manager - this option is available only when editing a global administrator, but not when a global administrator is editing their own account. If enabled, the user will still be designated as a global administrator, but will not be able to access the Site Manager interface, i.e. will only be allowed to perform actions in CMS Desk.
•Preferred content culture - preferred culture in which the content is displayed to the user.
•Preferred user interface culture - preferred culture in which the users wants to see the user interface (CMS Desk and Site Manager).
•Created - date and time when the user account was created.
•Last logon - date and time when the user last logged in.
•Last logon information - information about the IP address and browser agent of the user's last logon.
•Starting alias path - sets the alias path of the document that will serve as the root of the content tree in CMS Desk -> Content for the given user. The user will only be able to access the given document and its child documents. Please note that this feature only affects the CMS Desk editing interface and not the live site. If you need to completely restrict a user from certain parts of the website, you can do so by configuring the permissions of the given documents on the Properties -> Security tab.
You can also view the following information and perform related actions:
•Invalid logon attempts - number of unsuccessful attempts to log in with a wrong password. You can reset the value to zero and unlock the user's account by clicking the Reset & enable button.
•Password expires in - number of days left until the user's password expires. You can reset the validity to the maximum value by clicking Extend validity & enable.
Global administrators additionally have the option of using the Log in as this user button displayed at the top of the tab. This allows them to sign in as the currently edited user and view the website or CMS Desk interface from their perspective. When this action is performed, the administrator will be redirected depending on the type of the impersonated user:
•Editor - if impersonating an editor (a user with the Is editor option enabled), you will be redirected to CMS Desk.
•Standard user - if impersonating a standard user, you will be redirected to the title page of the live site.
It is not possible to impersonate other global administrators.
Actions carried out while impersonating a user are logged in Site Manager -> Administration -> Event log under a user name in format <user name> (<original user name>), where the original user is the administrator using the impersonate function.
When impersonating an editor in CMS Desk, you can return to the original global administrator at any time by opening the context menu located on the main header of CMS Desk and selecting the Cancel impersonation option.